6 April 2013

6th April - Modest Mouse's Good News for People Who Love Bad News

Artist – Album: Modest Mouse – Good News for People Who Love Bad News
Released:  6th April 2004
Sounds Like: Good news for people who like good music 

Isaac Brock, lead singer of Modest Mouse, has one of the most distinctive voices in rock: at its most intense, he sounds almost unhinged, forever teetering on the edge of insanity; whilst when they take it down a step or two, he croons in a weirdly accented, breaking lilt. Today’s album treats us to a wonderful balance of both.
Horn Intro’, shockingly, is a short horn intro, one which feels like a brash, toff student who quickly realises he’s in the wrong lecture hall and swiftly and entirely conspicuously tries to sneak out again. ‘The World at Large’ is more the real start, a dreamy ramble embellished with hypnotic backing “do do do do’s”. This is succeeded by the undisputed album highlight ‘Float On’, a strikingly positive anthem and a slight departure from Modest Mouse’s previously strange and paranoid output.

The album may peak after two and bit tracks, but that’s not to say that they’re done there. ‘Ocean Breathes Salty’ is only slightly less enduring then ‘Float On’ and, to its credit, it possesses more of a darkness and edge than its predecessor. Elsewhere, ‘Dance Hall’ is thrillingly manic; ‘Bukowski’ is a literate, softly sung song of self loathing; ‘The View’ is an angular indie rock track very much of its time; ‘Blame It on the Tetons’ is a beautifully melodic acoustic ditty.

For me, this is one of the great discoveries of this project so far – most other albums that I have adored were ones that I already knew and loved. Obviously, I was a fan of ‘Float On’ long ago (isn’t everyone?) and I remember reading about ‘Dance Hall’ in a blog suggesting alternative rock driving anthems a few years back, but otherwise this was a new, and fantastically enjoyable, experience for me. Well done Isaac.

Albumaday... rating: 9/10

1.       Horn Intro – 0:09
2.       The World at Large – 4:32
3.       Float On – 3:28
4.       Ocean Breathes Salty – 3:49
5.       Dig Your Grave – 0:13
6.       Bury Me with It – 3:49
7.       Dance Hall – 2:57
8.       Bukowski – 4:14
9.       This Devil’s Workday – 2:19
10.   The View – 4:13
11.   Satin in a Coffin – 2:35
12.   Interlude (Milo) – 0:58
13.   Blame It on the Tetons – 5:25
14.   Black Cadillacs – 2:43
15.   One Chance – 3:04
16.   The Good Times Are Killing Me – 4:16

Listen to ‘Bukowski’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpDabdSo9FQ

No comments:

Post a Comment