14 November 2013

14th November - Jarvis Cocker's The Jarvis Cocker Record

Artist – Album: Jarvis Cocker – The Jarvis Cocker Record
Released: 14th November 2006
Sounds Like: He’s so proud of it, he put his name on it

It took Jarvis Cocker such a long time to become a rock star that, by the time he’d done the inevitable and struck out solo without the aid of the rest of Pulp, he was already in his mid-forties. As a consequence, The Jarvis Cocker Record (or Jarvis as it’s also known) lacks some of the vim and vitality of his earlier records. What is not missing, though, is his trademark wit, and it seems that his deep distaste for a whole host of modern day happenings has only festered with age.

Cocker has arguably never sounded as straight pissed off as he does on the exquisitely blunt ‘Running the World’ (Cocker has a name for the people that are still running the world, but it’s a dirty word that rhymes with shunt and I’m not going to use it in case my Mum reads this post…). ‘I Will Kill Again’ is as darkly menacing as Pulp’s ‘I Spy’ and ‘Fat Children’ is almost comical with its tale of death by obese ASBO-collectors.

The music has mellowed a little – as much as the ‘Crimson and Clover’-sampling ‘Black Magic’ rocks, it never threatens to do so particularly hard – and Cocker has lost the occasional tick and hiccup which used to litter his delivery, but as a whole The Jarvis Cocker Record still finds the man in impeccably good form.

Albumaday... rating: 7/10

1.       The Loss Adjuster (Excerpt 1) – 0:29
2.       Don’t Let Him Waste Your Time – 4:09
3.       Black Magic – 4:21
4.       Heavy Weather – 3:49
5.       I Will Kill Again – 3:45
6.       Baby’s Coming Back to Me – 4:09
7.       Fat Children – 3:23
8.       From Auschwitz to Ipswich – 3:49
9.       Disney Time – 3:04
10.   Tonite – 3:56
11.   Big Julie – 4:41
12.   The Loss Adjuster (Excerpt 2) – 0:29
13.   Quantum Theory – 4:40
Hidden track Running the World – 4:50

Listen to ‘Running the World: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=monyiOsoKxg
Also released on the 14th November:
2008: Beyoncé – I Am... Sasha Fierce

No comments:

Post a Comment