24 January 2013

24 Jan - LCD Soundsystem's LCD Soundsystem

Artist – Album: LCD Soundsystem – LCD Soundsystem
Released: 24th January 2005
Sounds Like: The hipsters go-to dance punk party album

LCD Soundsystem, brainchild of New Jersey producer James Murphy, were too cool by half. Perennial favourites of supercilious online music magazine Pitchfork Media, each of their three studio albums garnered huge acclaim from websites and actual publications alike. In 2010, This Is Happening was listed as Pitchfork’s second best album of the year, repeating the feat achieved by 2007’s Sound of Silver, and this debut record was the eighth best back in the old sepia toned days of 2005.

Before all that, James Murphy had gigged in various bands and as a sound man on albums in New York and New Jersey, and was a clued up indie rock DJ. This experience all came to a head on LCD Soundsystem’s first single ‘Losing My Edge’, a sharp eight minute name check session where the protagonist lists iconic acts and venues (GIL! SCOTT! HERON!), and worries about falling behind the times. The fact that it was set to dance punk built around a Killing Joke sample meant that it was soon picked up by the cooler-than-thou DJs it was supposed to represent.

The rest of this album follows much the same line of wit and electronic sensibilities. ‘Daft Punk Is Playing At My House’ is incredibly fun and a stalwart of indie discos during the mid-noughties. ‘Tribulations’ is dark electo-pop and ‘Never as Tired as When I’m Waking Up’ is a slight departure into gentle indie rock.

Over 100 minutes long and across two discs, this record understandably doesn’t always hit the sweet spot. And at times it does feel like a collection of singles rather than a single flowing album (particularly with the second disc). But there’s enough smarts and skill here to make it an album you need to have a look at.

Albumaday... rating: 7/10

1.       Daft Punk Is Playing at My House – 5:16
2.       Too Much Love – 5:42
3.       Tribulations – 4:59
4.       Movement – 3:04
5.       Never as Tired as When I’m Waking Up – 4:49
6.       On Repeat – 8:01
7.       Thrills – 3:42
8.       Disco Infiltrator – 4:56
9.       Great Release – 6:35
10.   Losing My Edge – 7:51
11.   Beat Connection – 8:08
12.   Give It Up – 3:55
13.   Tired – 3:34
14.   Yeah (Crass Version) – 9:21
15.   Yeah (Pretentious Version) – 11:06
16.   Yr City’s a Sucker (Full Version) – 9:22

Listen to ‘Daft Punk Are Playing At My House’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj8JrQ9w5jY

Also released on the 24th January:
2006: Jenny Lewis – Rabbit Fur Coat

No comments:

Post a Comment