6 January 2013

6th Jan - Animal Collective's Merriweather Post Pavilion

Artist – Album: Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion
Released: 6th January 2009
Sounds Like: Stumbling upon some sort of crazy Technicolor dream party

Animal Collective have been making music since the turn of the millennium, and there’s still little else out there that sounds like them. Generally their releases are greeted with phrases like ‘experimental’ and ‘neo-this’ or ‘freak-that’, and, though warm, the reviews can quite often be intimidating, like taking on the Egg Heads in a pub quiz. Try not to be scared by the pompous journalistic jargon though, as their records are consistently brilliant and, for the most part, easily accessible. And - great news! - Merriweather Post Pavilion is arguably the best of the lot.

What makes it so good is hard to describe. The album’s more about atmosphere and texture than normal elements, which is great to listen to but a bitch to blog about. I could say that the playful nature and psychedelic feel brings to mind Lewis Carrol’s Alice in Wonderland channelled through multiple synths. But that might be a bit weird. Anyway, each track glides seamlessly in to the next, giving a beautifully well rounded album.

Stand out tracks include ‘Summertime Clothes’, ‘Brother Sport, and the much-lauded ‘My Girls’. Like Sigur Ros and their signature tune ‘Hoppipolla’ before them, there was a risk that ‘My Girls’ might become AC’s only known song, a sort of non-hit wonder, and, dear God no, the BBC’s go-to-song for absolutely everything, but they appear to have escaped this dire fate unscathed. Maybe we have the pompous journalists to thank for that.

Albumaday... rating:   9/10

1.       In the Flowers – 5:22
2.       My Girls – 5:41
3.       Also Frightened – 5:14
4.       Summertime Clothes – 4:30
5.       Daily Routine – 5:46
6.       Bluish – 5:14
7.       Guys Eyes – 4:31
8.       Taste – 3:53
9.       Lion in a Coma – 4:12
10.   No More Runnin’ – 4:23
11.   Brother Sport – 5:59

Listen to ‘My Girls’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zol2MJf6XNE

No comments:

Post a Comment